Peanuts

Here is one of the many, many reasons I love Bill Swinney’s Feed and Hardware:

There used to be a barbecue joint near St. Louis that sold boiled peanuts as a side dish. They would take roasted, salted-in-the-shell peanuts and boil them until they were soft. When you removed the shell, the peanut inside would taste sort of like a blackeyed pea, only more assertive. I don’t know whether the restaurant is still going, but the peanuts were a good idea.

I bought a couple of pounds of peanuts from Bill the other day. I think I’m going to put them in the Crock-Pot before we leave for Tucumcari this afternoon.

The Odeon is showing some ridiculous-sounding movie about the tooth fairy, and Joey wants to see it because it has The Rock in it. The Rock is one of his favorites. I think I’m going to buy some groceries and take some photos of the neon around town while he’s watching his movie. I promised him he could have both popcorn and Junior Mints at the movie if he’d help me move some junk out of the storage shed this morning.

I’ll try to post photos tomorrow if I get anything good.

— Sierra

One comment

  1. Rheannon · February 21, 2010

    Caution: boiling peanuts really stink. My dad loves them, we buy raw peanuts and boil them. They have a really bad odor while they are cooking though, so be careful

Leave a Reply

