Civic pride

Right after I bought the Tumbleweed, I went to the Coldwater Chamber of Commerce office to introduce myself and let the director know she needed to update her Rolodex with my name and contact information.

We struck up a conversation, and I let it slip that I’d been a photojournalist for several years. The director promptly offered to waive my membership dues next year if I’d shoot a nice picture of Sangre Mesa and make a rack card for the Chamber to hand out at trade shows and visitors’ centers.

For some reason, I was too keyed up to sleep last night, so I put together what I think is a pretty decent card. Take a look:

Front -- heavily 'Shopped, but I think it looks OK.

Back -- complete with cartography by yours truly.

It isn’t perfect, but I think it looks pretty good, especially when you consider the fact that I’m a photographer, not a graphic designer. I was pleased with the way the map turned out. I’ve always loved maps. I like to look at them and daydream about what it would be like to live in some other place. Maybe somebody will look at my map of Coldwater and daydream about living here. (Honestly, the fact that this town has a shaved-ice stand named “Scout’s Yellow Snow” would probably be reason enough for me to want to move here if I hadn’t already.)

In other news, I’ve just about finished clearing the debris out of Units One and Two, so I should be able to start tearing out carpet pretty soon. The ceilings need to be replaced, but I haven’t a clue how to do it (and don’t really want to mess with it, to be perfectly honest), so I think I’m going to have to break down and hire that done.

— Sierra

Leave a Reply

