Signs of spring

I spent the whole morning and most of the afternoon dragging filthy, water-damaged carpet out of Units One and Two and scraping the glue off the floor, which I was pleasantly surprised to discover is actually hardwood. I have no idea why these units have hardwood floors when all the others are stuck with terrazzo, but I’m looking forward to restoring them. They should be really striking when I finish.

I got back from the landfill in time to walk down to the high school and watch the boys’ baseball game. Joey was very excited about this, although I’m not sure whether he was truly interested in the game or just happy to have an excuse to sit outside in the sunshine and drink soda through a Twizzler he bought at the concession stand. Either way, we had a good time.

There’s something reassuring about a small-town baseball game.

After the game, I got out my macro lens and took a picture of the tiny flowers growing under our rusted-out sign:

To give you a sense of scale: I could easily fit six of those little blossoms on a dime. I have no idea what they’re called, but I thought they looked pretty.

— Sierra

2 comments

  1. Judy · March 24, 2010

    Your story just gets better and better. I look forward to every post!

  2. tumbleweedmotel · March 24, 2010

    Thanks! I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

