Holding pattern

It is snowing.

I can’t really do any more with Units One and Two until I get the ceilings replaced. Jesus gave me the number of a contractor he knows in Santa Rosa and said to call him up and drop his name if I want a good deal. Apparently the guy is a friend of his and helped him remodel a rental property he bought a few years ago. He says he’s really good, so I called and asked him to come out and give me an estimate. He’s supposed to take a look sometime Saturday.

Meanwhile, I was planning to spend today patching the cracks in the stucco on the exterior walls so I can give the place a fresh coat of paint, but the weather put the kibosh on that, so I just gave Harvey an obedience lesson and then wandered down to Bill’s to find out what kind of paint I should use on the sign out front, which is so rusty you can’t even tell what it says. He told me I’d be better off just coming up with a design and then hiring Rudy Gonzales from Tucumcari to come out and paint the actual sign.

After thinking about it for a minute, I decided that wasn’t a bad idea. Rudy has painted just about every sign on Route 66 between Adrian and Clines Corners, and he really does beautiful work. You can see samples of his work here.

I came home and spent part of this evening scribbling ideas in a notebook. This is the one I think I’m going to take to Rudy:

I’m planning to plant some prickly pear or yucca or something around the base of the sign as soon as the weather gets reliably decent. I wish I could afford to hire somebody to fabricate a big Holiday-Inn-Great-Sign-style neon sign with chasing lights and an animated tumbleweed to grab travelers’ attention, but I’m pretty sure that would cost more than I paid for the entire motel, so for the time being, I think I’ll just settle for some of Rudy’s handiwork and maybe hire a neon artist to dress it up when funds allow.

— Sierra

Leave a Reply

