Interesting visitor

Joey and I were updating the map in the lobby this afternoon when an unexpected visitor walked in. Dr. Scherer, the Coldwater superintendent of schools, came by to request a room inspection. He said the high-school principal is retiring at the end of this year, and some candidates will be coming in from out of town to interview for his position.

Dr. Scherer wanted to see what I’d done with the Tumbleweed so he could recommend it to people who were coming into town for interviews. I showed him all the rooms and explained what I’d done with each. He seemed very impressed and asked a lot of questions about the history of the place and how much of the work I’d done myself.

I thought it was rather serendipitous that I had a professional educator in my lobby just as Joey and I were having our afternoon lesson, so I asked Joey to tell Dr. Scherer about all the pins in our guest map while I fixed him a cup of coffee. I came back from the kitchen to find them engaged in a very serious conversation about everything Joey knew about every spot on the map. I’ve never seen anyone take Joey so seriously. It honestly just about made me cry to see the way Dr. Scherer was talking with him — so patient, and he treated him with so much dignity. Nobody ever does that for Joey.

Dr. Scherer, as it turns out, was a special ed teacher before he got into administration.

Sometimes I think God just gets a kick out of opening up a hole in the sky and dropping blessings in my lap.

An hour after he left, Dr. Scherer came back with a school library card for Joey and a shopping bag full of books on various teaching methods for me. You have no idea how excited I was to find an old Glenn Doman paperback in the bag. Mom used Doman’s method to teach me to read when I was a toddler, and I’d been trying to remember the system so I could use it with Joey.

I can’t wait to get started.

— Sierra

Leave a Reply

