Deluge

Our DNA tests arrived via FedEx this morning. I sent Grant a text as soon as they came in, and he came right over and took his so I could take them over to Santa Rosa and FedEx them back to the lab before the close of business today. With any kind of luck, we’ll know something by the end of next week.

Collecting the samples reminded me of the project we did in junior high, in which our biology teacher showed us how to collect cheek cells and examine them under a microscope. We had to draw a picture of what we saw on the slide.

It’s been 23 years since we did that. It doesn’t feel like that long.

Driving to Santa Rosa and back was an adventure. I think we’ve finally hit monsoon season for real. It was raining so hard that Grant insisted I take the XC70, which has 4WD, rather than the truck, which has high clearance but doesn’t handle well in adverse weather.

If someone had told me two years ago that I would be driving a Volvo through a monsoon in the middle of a desert to make sure I wasn’t accidentally dating a long-lost half-brother I never knew I had, I … well, come to think of it, I probably wouldn’t have been all that surprised. As Elbert Hubbard once said: “Life is just one damned thing after another.” Mine certainly is, anyway.

Thanks to the storm, I’ve got laundry drip-drying on makeshift clotheslines all over the lobby. The overhang looks like Havasu Falls, and Harvey and the cats are under the table, hiding from the thunder that rattles the windows every few minutes.

It’s a good afternoon for sleeping. I think I’ll curl up on the couch and take a nap after I finish cleaning up the lunch dishes.

— Sierra

Leave a Reply

