Back to school

Today was Grant’s first day of school. He said it went pretty smoothly. Aside from issuing a few warnings about dress-code violations and defusing an angry parent who didn’t like the cell-phone policy (her kid got busted for texting in class and won’t get his phone back for three days), he didn’t have to deal with any discipline issues, and he said the kids all seemed friendly enough.

I think he scored points with his faculty by backing up the civics teacher who confiscated the cell phone. Evidently the last guy was bad about undermining the teachers when the parents showed up to complain. He’d get all intimidated and give them their way if they started cussing or threatening people. If they’re hoping to intimidate Grant, they’re going to be sorely disappointed. He does not suffer fools gladly, and if he is afraid of anything, I’m sure I don’t know what it is.

Despite the relatively easy day, he nearly fell asleep in his plate during dinner tonight. I was a little worried about him, but he said that’s pretty much par for the course the first couple of weeks of school — it’s just mentally exhausting to be responsible for a bunch of kids all day, even when they’re being good, and it takes him a while to build up his endurance after a few weeks off. He finished dinner, kissed me goodbye, and went home at 8.

Another heavy rain blew into town about 10 minutes after he left, so he should have had a good night for sleeping. I’d have turned in early myself if I hadn’t had a steady parade of customers in my lobby all night. Rain always drives travelers off the interstate and into my parking lot.

On the up side, the rain cooled down the kitchen, so I took advantage of my long evening to make a batch of biscotti. The last tray came out of the oven half an hour ago, and I’ve just about finished cleaning up the kitchen, so I think I’ll switch on the “NO VACANCY” sign and head to bed. ‘Night.

— Sierra

Leave a Reply

